On the Shelves @ Crocker Library
- World Book Encyclopedia
- You’ll find books about American Indians on the shelves in the Dewey Decimal number range 970-979.
The Oakland Public Library (OPL) has an excellent database called Social Studies Fact Cards. The database contains information about a wide range of topics including California Indians, Texas Indians, and Northeast Indians. Kids Infobits and the Student Resource Center contain encyclopedia articles and images relating to American Indian history. Look for these databases on the OPL Homework help page.
***In order to use this database, you’ll need a library card and a 4-digit PIN number.***
- Britannica Online
Britannica Online is the online version of Encyclopedia Britannica. It contains articles, images, video clips, and links to additional resources on a wide range of topics. Can’t remember the user name and password? Check your bookmark or ask the librarian.
Calisphere is the University of California’s free public gateway to over 100,000 artifacts relating to California and western history including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts. No user name or password required.
California Indian Tribal Maps: California and Bay Area tribal maps compiled by the Native American Cultural Center (NACC).
US Indian Affairs Tribal Directory – California: List of California tribes with links to tribal web sites and leader contact information.
US Indian Affairs – Useful Links: Links to cultural, environmental, political, and governmental web sites related to Indians and tribes.
Library of Congress American Memory Collection: Free and open access to maps, photos, audio, and video. Look for the Native American History link.
See your teacher for assignment details.