Biographies

Living Museum Project Guidelines

2015 Living Museum Assignment

Sample Paper

On the Shelves @ Crocker Library

  • We have a large collection of biographies on the shelves in the library in the biography section.
  • World Book Encyclopedia

Online Resources

Britannica Online: Crocker has a subscription to Britannica Online, the online version of Encyclopedia Britannica. It contains articles, images, video clips, and links to additional resources on a wide range of topics. Can’t remember the user name and password? Check your bookmark or ask the librarian.

PebbleGo: Crocker has a subscription to this research database made just for K-2 kids. You’ll find simple biographies which are a great starting point for kids working on the Living Museum project for the first time.

Oakland Public Library

The Oakland Public Library (OPL) has an excellent database called Biography in Context. The database contains biographical information about a wide range of people. Look for the database on the OPL Homework help page.

***In order to use this database, you’ll need a library card and a 4-digit PIN number.***

Biography.com: Articles, images, audio, and video about famous and infamous people around the world.

Library of Congress Amazing Americans: Information about famous Americans. Not the most extensive site, but great for kids.

Academy of Achievers: Articles, images, video, and audio about prominent figures in the arts, business, science, and sports. This website is designed for students in the 4th grade and up. It’s a good place to get ideas and information, but students may need assistance from an adult.

Museums

Consider visiting a local museum or a museum’s website. The Bay Area has museums featuring the lives of Amelia Earhart, Walt Disney, Charles Schulz, Ansel Adams, and more. Many museums have biographical information, images, video, and other artifacts online.