Wildlife

On the Shelves @ Crocker Library

  • World Book Encyclopedia
  • You’ll find books about wild animals on the shelves in the Dewey Decimal number range 590-599.

Online Resources

Oakland Public Library

The Oakland Public Library (OPL) has a database called Amazing Animals of the World. The database is part of Grolier Online, a research tool for students that covers a wide range of topics including animals. Another site available through OPL is Kids Infobits. You can browse through lists of animals or search for information about specific animals. Look for these databases on the OPL Homework help page.

***In order to use this database, you’ll need a library card and a 4-digit PIN number.***

Britannica Online

Britannica Online is the online version of Encyclopedia Britannica. It contains articles, images, video clips, and links to additional resources on a wide range of topics including animals. Can’t remember the user name and password? Check your bookmark or ask the librarian.

San Diego Zoo Animal Bytes: Information, images, and sounds of amazing animals from around the world.

Endangered Species Fact Sheets: Information about endangered animals around the globe.

All About Birds: Everything you ever wanted to know about birds! You can listen to bird sounds and see the birds in action on video.

Birds of Lake Merritt: This web page isn’t made specifically for kids, but has interesting information and pictures of some of Oakland’s own city wildlife. Make sure to check out the links (pictures of birds) at the bottom of the page.

National Geographic Animal Facts

National Geographic Creature Feature: Did you know eagle nests are called airies? Find finds and images of all kinds of animals on this kid-friendly website.

San Diego Natural History Museum: Information about reptiles and amphibians that live on the west coast.

Lindsay Wildlife Museum: Information about how humans can be responsible neighbors to wildlife.

Project Guidelines

See your teacher for assignment details.